top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOswald Snigglesworth

Part the First

Updated: Oct 22, 2020

I don't want to ramble on at length, so I'm doing this baby up FAQ style.

 

Who are you?


I’m Alison – I live on an island off the coast of British Columbia, Canada. In my spare time, I have a million hobbies that I cycle through. Research and experimental archaeology are but two of them. Put simply, Michaels and Etsy make a LOT of money off of me.

 

What is this blog about?



This blog is a place to record and share my research on the early Anglo-Saxons and their day-to-day lives. The time period I’m interested in is called the Migration Period and refers to the years between approximately 300 CE – 600 CE. The reason I am fascinated with this time period is because it was a time of massive movement of peoples within Europe and saw a major influx of immigrants to Britain. All of my discoveries and all of my experimental archaeology work will be kept here as a record.

 

What exactly are you going to do with all your research?



Besides be extremely educated in a topic that is unlikely to make me any money? I plan to use my knowledge in my persona development within the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA). If you are unfamiliar with the SCA, you can find information here:



In keeping with the SCA structure, I have developed an alter-ego who lives in and around 550 CE. Her name is Æbbe aet Uuluic (modernly, Ebba of Woolwich), and she lives just outside of London in a community known for textile production.

 

Why the weird title? Is it a spelling mistake?

No spelling mistake – just a really bad pun. “Domesday” refers to the Domesday Book, a record of the great survey of much of England (and parts of Wales), completed in 1086, done for William I of England, or William the Conqueror. Because the Domesday Book was completed after 1066, it symbolizes the end of the Anglo-Saxon era and the beginning of the Norman era. My research will be concentrating on a period of time almost half a millenium older than the Domesday book.

 
Fun fact!
The Domesday book got its name because its lists were so complete that it reminded people of the Last Judgment (which people also call Doomsday, or Domesday) in Christianity, when lists of what people have done go before God for people to be judged.
16 views0 comments
bottom of page